Chrome automatically logs in and receives reviews; disable the function

The latest Chrome update brought a breakthrough that, according to security experts, violates users' privacy. In browser version 69, when someone accesses the account on some Google service (such as Gmail, for example) through the browser, it automatically logs in to Chrome as well.

READ: Google knows almost everything you do on the internet; avoid

The process is done without the person being able to choose whether or not to integrate. The feature already existed in previous editions of the software, but was optional and required prior confirmation by the user.

Chrome 69 logs in without user authorization

Want to buy cell phone, TV and other discount products? Know the Compare

Syncing is not necessarily a bad thing because it makes it easy to integrate Google services between the web and the browser, which can make browsing faster. Criticism, however, is about how it came to be made. Now, by accessing platform accounts such as YouTube, Gmail, Google Drive, and others, browsing data can be sent to the search engine servers without the user even realizing that they are providing them.

Last weekend, cryptography professor at Johns Hopkins University Matthew Green posted on his blog that new software behavior smears the trust between user and service. This happens because the new interface allows the person to log in by mistake and after their data is shared, there is little that can be done.

Google's software engineer Adrienne Porter Felt has responded to Twitter's privacy concerns. According to the official, the new feature is intended to remind the user that he has logged into some Google service by the browser. Felt also denies that this login has the same functionality as profile syncing in Chrome and therefore would not affect user privacy.

Think of it as adding "I FYI you're currently logged in to Gmail" in the corner of the browser window. That's what the feature does. It's different from the feature you seem to be talking about which we call sync, that has privacy implications.

September 22, 2018

If you do not want to log in to both services automatically, you can disable the feature by following the step-by-step instructions below.

Turning off auto login in Chrome 69

Step 1. Access the Chrome Experiments page by the address "chrome: // flags / # account-consistency" (without quotes). The "Identity consistency between browser and cookie jar" option will be highlighted. It is responsible for empowering the browser to manage the entry and exit of Google accounts. Press "Default" to view the other options;

Click on the Default option

Step 2. Next, go to the option "Disable";

Disable the Chrome option

Step 3. Complete the process on the "Relaunch now" button and wait for the browser to reboot for the settings to take effect.

Restart Chrome

It is worth remembering that this is still an experimental resource. Therefore, Google emphasizes that by enabling it, the user is subject to loss of browser data or compromising their security or privacy.

Via TechCrunch and Cryptography Engeneering

Chrome adds with favorites; what to do? Ask questions in the Forum.

How to unlock pop-ups in Google Chrome